Myfitnesspal ticker

Created by MyFitnessPal - Free Calorie Counter

Showing posts with label weightloss. Show all posts
Showing posts with label weightloss. Show all posts

Tuesday, 5 June 2012

So far so OK

So a few ups and downs weight loss wise over the last few days. Great day on Saturday, slightly ruined by the 4 pints of cider I had in the evening (whoooooops!), but felt I recovered pretty well with an hour of zumba the next morning and a healthy bean and veggie casserole for brunch. Only problem was, we had a last minute guest for our roast dinner that evening - our travel buddy RJ - and, well,  my quiet night turned into a bit of a drinkathon. We managed to plough our way through several bottle of red wine before we got on to the vodka and ginger beer *shudder, followed by that hallowed soaker-upper of booze - the pizza. Because our route had taken us from ours, to the pub and the to RJ's, we hiccuped our way home at 4am. So much for a quiet night!

I have to say, yesterday started out a bit of a write off. Woke up at 11am (!), rolled out around noon (cue Berocca and aspirin) and then realised we had very little food-wise in the house. Craving bacon sandwiches and Pot Noodles and seriously considering venturing out to get them - even though I looked like a zombie victim - I eventually stumbled across a tub of ready-to-shake pancake mix. It wasn't a Pot Noodle, but it certainly did the trick.

The rest of my day was really quite exciting. Spent an hour at Trailfinders planning our trip, I saw the light after finally venturing to Nando's *dribble, and then caught Prometheus at the amazing and highly recommended The Electric in Birmingham.

And just a note about Nando's - apparently it's a good shout for slimmers. As long as you take the skin off the chicken, it's a pretty healthy fast food. And on that note, I need to eat - I'm going for a Mullerlight yoghurt and a banana as a post workout snack. In-keeping with my exercise plan, I did Jillian Michael's 6 Week Six Pack this morning and although I was still a sweaty mess afterwards, I've noticed big improvements in my strength and core stability. Still worried about the thighs though, so opting for some cheeky side lunges and scissor jumps from time to time, just to get some extra toning in. I must look like a loon...

Saturday, 2 June 2012

A change of plan...

Wow, two whole months since my last post - that's pretty poor, even by my lazy standards!

But there's a reason for the radio silence. Because of that wonderful way that life throws up the most unexpected and exciting things, I'm in an entirely different place to where I was two months ago; one week ago, even! Because last week I quit my job, giving three months' notice before we leave our familiar and cosy UK shores to explore the world!

I'm side-stepping the usual life plan for something altogether more butt-clenchingly terrifying and exhilarating.

I can't work out if we're being brave or stupid. Probably a little of both I guess. But you can't fail to feel alive when you've just quit a well-paid career and plan to rent your house out to some complete strangers in the hope they'll cover the mortgage for you and hopefully not break the place. In the words of Dr Pepper: "What's the worst that can happen?" Well, we could run out of money, get kidnapped by triads, default on our mortgage payments and have to return home, tails between our legs, to work three jobs whilst we put our broken lives back together.... OR... everything could turn out just fine and we could have the most amazing time of our lives. I'm opting for the latter... :)

So here's the thing - in addition to the alarming number of things we need to do before we can bugger off, I've GOT TO shed this weight. Currently, my thighs rub together - this is unacceptable considering the heat of Thailand (our first stop). Also, my bingo wings are outta control. I'm paranoid about sweat patches and I know that a lot of it is down to having more flesh - and therefore insulation - around the top of my arms. And finally, my spare tyre is monster truck-sized at the moment. I think I'll probably lose weight naturally when we're away, I tend to eat less in the heat anyway, but having massive flubbery balloon thighs when we get on that plane is not an option. The thighs must die.

With this in mind, I've replaced my previous eating plan with something a little more realistic. I'm back on Slimming World (my brother and my aunt are shedding ridiculous amounts of weight on this plan and I've got slimming envy) and I've drawn up an exercise schedule that gets me moving for at least half an hour, one way or another, every day. And I'm not talking about a half-arsed walk for 30 minutes, I'm talking pushing myself. Today, it was 30 Day Shred. Things hurt. This is good...




Sunday, 1 April 2012

Feeling good!

Amazing how a pretty bad week diet-wise can be turned into a good thing when it motivates you to get a grip and get back on it.

So yesterday was cheat day and as one our friends was visiting for the weekend, we planned to spend most of it at various pubs around Leamington. I was thinking of scrapping cheat day due to the disaster that was Friday (and Thursday, and pretty much every day last week), but I'm glad I talked myself out of it. Although I'm probably going to have gained pretty much all my lost weight when I weigh in on Tuesday, I'm rapidly discovering that routine is pretty important for me to feel in control. I don't want to be inflexible, because that's what causes problems when something unexpected crops up, but I definitely feel more prepared for the unexpected when I've been successful in my routine for a few days.

So yes, cheat day was definitely on yesterday! I had a huge steak sandwich for brunch and all 5 of us shared packets of crisps and the most amazing little desserts - millionaire shortbread, a rocky road slice, a huge cookie and a raspberry flapjack. It was fun having tiny tasters of everything and also felt really indulgent.

Then my husband came up with the most ingenious suggestion - instead of just going to the nearest pub for a pint, we should make a day of it and go for a nice walk to get to some out-of-town pubs and visit some establishments we haven't been to in years. In effect, a far healthier pub crawl than usual. It meant we could get our fitbit steps up as well as having a few cheeky pints! It's times like these I remember why I married him - the boy's a genius!

So we set off along the canal to the first pub, The White Lion, where I had a bottle of Hoegarden and we shared some olives which were very, very tasty. Then we pottered on back down the road and through Newbold Comyn to get to the Newbold Comyn Arms. Here I had a pint of Magners Draft and we shared some prawn cocktail crisps and a packet of Mini Cheddars. After tramping through the park we stumbled across a BMX event and climbed up a huge hill to get to the cycle track. A true fitbit convert, I just kept thinking I'll get my floors up today! This is going to count for loads! After watching the guys and girls whizzing and jumping past for a while we headed back down the hill and to the Somerville Arms.

It was here we found a little gem of a pub. Not only do they sell draft ale and cider, but they have a cheese night. Any place that has a cheese night is fine by me! So we stayed here in our happy little bubble for the longest out of any of our stops and I had two pints of Weston's Scrumpy - a very cheeky cider at 6%. We also shared some Monster Munch (universally agreed to be the perfect snack for drinking), some Quavers and some nuts. After that we headed to our friend's house, ordered Mexican (although I had a mahoosive burger instead) and settled down to watch Anchor Man with a bottle of Old Rosie (another cheeky cider, this time at 7.5%!). This was swiftly followed by vodka and ginger beer!

When we all left a few hours later, sleepy and a little wobbly, we couldn't believe it was before midnight! Hardly rock n' roll for a Saturday night, but after eight hours of drinking, I guess we'd paid our dues.

The best thing is that I feel absolutely fine this morning - in fact, I feel fantastic. Not a hint of a hangover, incredible amounts of energy and loads and loads of motivation to get back in control and have an excellent week of diet and fitness. I did more than 21,000 steps yesterday - 11,000 more than my target - I climbed the equivalent of 16 floors and I burned almost 2,600 calories. Sure, I probably consumed more lard and sugar than I should do in a week, but that's not the point! And this morning I jumped out of bed and enjoyed every second of my zumba class - my instructor even commented on how bouncy I was for a Sunday morning!

I have the eye of the tiger and I'm determined to make this diet work. One slight adjustment I might make for next week, however, is to track my calories on a cheat day. Until now I figured it would be counter productive as the whole point is to get all the cravings out of the way guilt-free so you can get back on it for the next 6 days. But if I'm honest, I tend to go a little too overboard, to the point when I'm stuffing chocolates into my mouth simply because I can. I'm not actually enjoying everything I eat. Perhaps if I track the calories too, it'll encourage me to only choose the foods I really, really want.

Here's to an active, healthy week!

Wednesday, 14 March 2012

NHS Direct and The Biggest Loser

No no, I'm not referring to my self as 'a loser' after calling the NHS about my odd abdominal noises, but it's not far off. After registering my symptoms with the telephonist, she advised a nurse would call me back within 10 hours.

I think 10 hours is fair considering the non-urgent nature of the call, but nevertheless, it's quite a long period of time to spend staring at your phone (as you inevitably do when you're expecting someone to call). Anyway, five hours later my iPhone starts ringing (very loudly as I've cranked the volume up to maximum to make extra sure I can hear it) and.... it promptly switches itself off before I can answer the bloody thing! Argh!

That iPhone is a highly advanced piece of technology that can send emails and tweets, get me onto facebook, hold apps for just about everything and do all kinds of weird and wonderful things, but it can't handle the basic function of a phone.

So all I'm left with is a slightly peeved message from a nurse who probably thinks I hung up on her. The call's technically been dealt with, she says, so if I still need their services I'll need to call back. And wait another 10 hours?! Noooo.

So there you go, that was my slightly pointless NHS Direct adventure. All in all I think they did a grand job considering I called them about gurgling.

Oh yes, and last night I also watched The Biggest Loser (UK) grand finale. I ruddy love that programme. I started off raging against it, shaking my head about the fact it was promoting super fast weight loss that's unachievable for most overweight people. At least the people who have full time jobs and don't have nutritionists and personal trainers barking at them for 8 hours a day, anyway. I mean, they started off losing 1 or 2 stones in the first week. And after that anything less than a 7lb loss was seen as a failure. In a week?! Christ, I'd be expecting a fanfare if I lost that in a month!

Tell a fat person they can lose weight that fast and you might as well give them a tonne of cake and say 'hey, it's Ok - you can eat that now because I've seen people shed a stone in a week. It's possible, so you'll be size zero in no time - when you want to do it, of course. For now, you can just eat that cake.'

But a few episodes in and you do realise that these lardy people are actually becoming incredibly fit, even if they are still big. And the organisers do make them carry on the program for 16 weeks after the initial 8-week bootcamp before they do the final, which I guess is the most responsible way of making sure they carry on their new lifestyles in the long term.

Watching the final last night, I was so blown away by what they achieved. But the thing that stuck with me is that stroppy ol' Jessie, who I didn't like much, went from 18st 11lb - which is at least 6 stone heavier than me, to an amazing 11st 3lbs, which frankly, is a weight I would kill for right now. And she looked HOT.

I saw these people as being way, way, way above my size and didn't connect my circumstances with theirs in the slightest. I thought people that are that big are bound to lose fairly significant amounts of weight quickly, but I didn't think any one of them would actually be thinner than me by the end of the series. When Jessie was asked how she'd lost so much weight, she commented that one of the trainers had told her that running was the best thing for weight loss, so she'd been running 5-10km EVERY DAY during the 16 weeks before the final, and that had contributed towards her losing a whopping 40% of her body weight by that final weigh in. That's incredible.

I've always said that I'm not a runner. Back in the day, I used to be able to run for 15 minutes, but that was years ago and even with my brief stint with a personal trainer this year, half a mile was a struggle. But if Jessie can bloody do it, then so can I. I might not have liked Jessie as a contestant, but I definitely admire her for what she's achieved and, surprisingly enough, I think she's going to be just the inspiration I needed to get myself running.

Sunday, 11 March 2012

Karma's a bitch, ain't it?

Urghhhhh. So days after getting loads of undeserved sympathy for essentially being hungover, here I am with a hideous real-life virus and I feel TERRIBLE. Every part of me aches and I can't keep anything down. Now, this says a lot about the mindset of a constant dieter, but whilst this is no fun at all, I can't help but see the bright side of not being able to eat anything - I mean, I'm bound to lose some weight, right?

That said, I'm also feeling really dizzy and I've just slept six hours straight through the day, inadvertently missing the sunniest and warmest day of the year so far.

What's more, I watched Contagion last night. Waking up with a virus the day after watching that is more than a little disturbing!

Anyway, cheat day yesterday was a success. After loading ourselves with bacon butties (such a treat!) we drove to Ludlow, which is a gorgeous little town famed for its annual food festival. We logged an impressive 8,000 steps just by exploring the castle, and an even more impressive 49 flights of steps. The little Fitbit must have been so proud! Then we ventured around the town for a while and came to the church, which has stunning stained glass windows and dates back to the 14th century. We climbed the 200 steps up to the top of the tower (adding even more to our total) and then... it all went a bit wrong. At 2.30pm, you're already pushing it for lunch and we made the mistake of deciding to travel to a pub half an hour away which was recommended on Tripadvisor. It stopped serving food at 3pm. Now mroe than a little hungry and expecting great things from a cheat day lunch, we set off towards Temple Wells, which was 20 minutes away from the doomed pub. By the time we got there, everywhere was shutting up, so we ended up having a dirty (and I mean dirty) fried meal from a grumpy chippy. Chips (horrible and soggy), a chicken and mushroom pie, a scallop and pollock in batter, all shared between two. I think we took cheat day to another level. But again, it wasn't satisfying and it certainly wasn't tasty.

After heading home, we arranged to meet with some friends to have a curry, wine and film night, hence the paranoia-inducing viewing of Contagion. The curry was amazeballs - set menu for 4 and we got poppadoms, various starters, 4 different mains, rice and naan. It brought cheat day back from the brink. Hurray for curry!

Thursday, 8 March 2012

Hangover shame

I'm usually quite diligent when it comes to work (honest!) but today was a total write off. People thought my pale face and occasional stifled retching was due to some kind of illness. And I swear I didn't sober up until at least 1pm.

But 'every cloud' and all that - when I ventured out at lunch I must have notched up at least 3,000 steps going from shop to shop buying lard-based offerings that I hoped might just appease the hangover god. Alas, after 2 M&S cheese scones (once a thing of rare beauty, now de-cheesed and tasteless), a chicken and mushroom slice, a jumbo sausage roll and a pork pie, I just feel disgusting as well as hungover. Not even the bag of Revels and Wispa bar could help.

Inputting these things into myfitnesspal is enough to make you weep - 'you are 947 calories over your target'. Holy crap batman.

So with that disaster over with, I just need to navigate through Friday breakfast tomorrow and then it's *drum roll please* - cheat day! I know cheat day really should have been today considering the lard count, but there's no way I'm watching my husband gorging himself all day and not getting involved.

I've been under my calorie allowance every day so far, so surely it'll all work out in the end? Right? RIGHT?!

Ok, probably not, but I've got a cunning plan. The husband loves castles (as you do) so have suggested we visit Ludlow Castle on Saturday - all that walking up turrets and plodding around the grounds will help to counteract the inevitable face-stuffing of banned goods.

Monday, 5 September 2011

D-Day

So, I've put on approx 13lb since I got married 8 weeks ago - surely that's some kind of record? It's not really something I want to boast about to be honest, but it's kinda confirmed my theory that I AM NOT one of those people who can eat anything they want and stay slim. That's definitely not me.

So by the time we go on honeymoon in Jan I need to have lost 13lb, plus another half a stone (at least) and be all toned and fit in time for beaches, trekking and pampering. By my calculations then, I need to lose 5lb per month to be a skinny malinky by Jan - plus, I need to navigate the gluttony that is the festive period.

My first move will be to join a lunch time Slimming World literally a couple of feet away from my work. I'm sceptical, but figure it's something I can follow blindly for a few weeks and if it doesn't work I can always go back to the old failsafe of cutting out rice, pasta, potatoes and bread... it's dull, and it encourages binging when you finally allow yourself to one of the 'forbidden' food groups, but at least I knows it gets results if all else fails. Still, I like the idea of having a balanced diet in the traditional sense. First class is on Wednesday... already a bit nervous.